Children, Dogs, and Chapati. Oh My!

Last week I returned from an incredible three weeks in Entebbe, Uganda where I was staying at an amazing childrens home called “Malayka House”

It is difficult to put my experience into words to those who were not there but I intend to try!

On our first day we arrived at 7:30am Entebbe time and got to Malayaka House by 8:30. The children were on vacation so they were all right there to greet us.  I do not think I’ve ever received so many hugs in such a short time!

Shakria, Maggie and Sali!

Shakria, Maggie and Sali!

We quickly bonded with the children and settled in! Malayaka House had become like a second home!

The children of Malayaka House are so incredibly resilient,strong and loving! I have worked with children a long time and have never been so impressed with a group of children!

The Aunties are the people who keep Malayaka House running. They are the caregivers of the children. They are 7 very dedicated, friendly and hospitable women! I miss them all dearly and can’t thank them enough for all they do, both to take care of our group and to take care of the children.

Auntie Winnie with Amina!

Auntie Winnie with Amina!

During our time at MH we did a lot of projects to try to help out. Everything from painting to doing the dishes and laundry and even some gardening!   It wasn’t much but it was the least we could do to help out this hard work group of people!

I really admire the way Malayaka House structures the kids lives.  They have very clear expectations that all the kids are aware of and I love that!  Some of the gardens are named after children who worked the hardest to plant them!

Me and Hannah!

Me and Hannah!

Our group was also able to take the kids on many field trips like to the beach and the zoo.  So much fun!  I’m not sure who had more fun…me or the kids. We also spent a lot of time doing homework to keep the kids caught up over their vacation.

DSCN0147

Many volunteers at Malayaka House have the opportunity to stay for many months, we were only able to stay for three weeks.  So lets face facts, this trip was more for my group to expand our world horizons and experience a new culture than it was for them. However, when I graduate I would love to go back for a longer time and form even stronger connections.

I feel like a different person since coming back already. I love the entire Malayaka House family and I think of them every day. I could go on and on about my three weeks there but this blog post would go on too long.

About jessicalowell91

I'm a marketing student at Champlain College in Burlington Vermont. I love social media non profits and international service work I DREAM big!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment